LAS VEGAS — Nearly a thousand members and associates of the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors - National Association joined in the “Celebration of Youth” part of the PHCC convention’s opening ceremonies here. More than $100,000 in scholarships were awarded by PHCC and industry partners during the Celebration of Youth segment of the 121st PHCC Convention, held Sept. 29-Oct. 3.

Scholarship presenters included Bradford White Corp., Delta Faucet Co., American Standard, the PHCC National Auxiliary and the PHCC Educational Foundation. Later in the week, A.O. Smith/State Water Heaters presented a scholarship award at PHCC’s closing banquet.

“The condensed PHCC convention schedule gave us the perfect opportunity to have nearly all scholarships presented at one time instead of spread out over several events as we’ve done previously,” outgoing PHCC President Eddie Hollub said. “It was very rewarding to see how many students will benefit from the industry’s commitment to education for our youth.”

The PHCC-NA Educational Foundation announced its 2003 scholarship award winners who were formally recognized during the convention. This year’s total of $60,000 in scholarships will be distributed to the winners during their course of studies in their plumbing-heating-cooling-related majors. The winners are:

  • Jordan Helget, Ellis, Kan., a mechanical engineering student at Kansas State University (as the first-place winner, Helget is the recipient of the most prestigious PHCC Educational Foundation scholarship, the Charles F. Hiley Sr., Scholarship);
  • Brennan Chase Norris, Keithville, La., a mechanical engineer student at Louisiana Tech University;
  • Michael Reno, Phoenix, a business management student at Paradise Community College;
  • Clayton Saliba, San Antonio, Texas, a business management student at Southwest Texas State University;
  • David Taecker, Watertown, S.D., a business management student at Florida Gulf Coast University; and
  • Bradley A. White, South Bend, Ind., an architectural engineering student at Milwaukee School of Engineering.

The Educational Foundation Scholarship Program awards grants to students who are enrolled in a plumbing-heating-cooling-related major at an accredited college or university and intend to pursue a career in the p-h-c profession. The purpose of the program is to elevate the technical and business competence of the p-h-c industry.

At a luncheon ceremony Sept. 30, Delta Faucet announced the recipients of its six $2,500 scholarships, five awarded to students attending four-year colleges and one awarded to a student at a two-year college.

Recipients of scholarships as part of a four-year college education are: Jordan Helget of Ellis, Kan.; Scott J. Lynch of North Grafton, Mass.; David Taecker of Watertown, S.D.; Bradley White of South Bend, Ind.; and Michael Leeds Heidler of Annapolis, Md. The scholarship recipient attending a two-year college is Amy Sparacino of Las Vegas.

The purpose of the Delta Faucet Co. Scholarship Program is to elevate the technical and business competence of the industry by awarding scholarships to students who are enrolled in a major directly related to the p-h-c profession, a company representative said.

PHCC said it named Manuel Oroz of Las Vegas its “Plumbing Apprentice of the Year” in recognition of his excellent work ethic and plumbing proficiency. Described by his peers as “very proficient in plumbing code knowledge,” Oroz is a fourth-year apprentice in the Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors Association of Nevada, Joint Apprenticeship Training Program.

The PHCC-NA’s Apprentice and Journeyman Training Committee evaluated dozens of nominations for Plumbing Apprentice of the Year and awarded the recipient, Oroz, a $2,000 scholarship and a check for $500, along with a trophy.

Grownups also were recognized at the convention.

Karl Bykowski, vice president of the John W. Danforth Co. in Tonawanda, N.Y., received the prestigious Col. George D. Scott award for meritorious service. The award recognizes a PHCC member for many years of service and unselfish devotion to his association and industry, and whose industry efforts have provided many benefits to other p-h-c contractors. The award is presented in recognition of the continuing philosophy of dedicated service inspired by Col. George D. Scott, PHCC’s first president.

The Western New York Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors nominated Bykowski, noting, “Over the years Karl has shown selfless dedication and commitment to our associations and the industry.”

At the national level, Bykowski has served as national PHCC secretary and national zone director representing New York and New Jersey on the national board of directors. He was chair of a convention and exposition committee, and he has served on several national committees.

At the state level, he has been president, vice president, secretary, director and legislative chair.

Referred to by Arizona plumbing industry leaders as a “truly dedicated individual,” Mark Giebelhaus, owner of Marlin Mechanical Corp. in Phoenix, was awarded The Delta Faucet Co. Plumbing Contractor of the Year Award for his efforts to further the plumbing industry. In addition to serving two terms as president of PHCC-Arizona, Giebelhaus has been active with the state’s Subcontractors Council as a board member, legislative committee chairman and president. He is former national president.

David Shapiro won the Trane/PHCC HVAC Contractor of the Year Award. Shapiro is founder of Shapiro & Duncan Inc., a mechanical contracting company in Rockville, Md. While his two sons now run the business, Shapiro is focusing on providing training programs for educational institutions ranging from elementary schools to engineering colleges. He also provides advice and coordinates donations of needed materials and fixtures for eight different vocational-technical schools and two night training centers in the Washington metropolitan area.

PHCC installed new officers during the convention. Steve Carder of Carder Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Co. in Sand Springs, Okla., assumed the presidency. As his secretary, Carder selected Keith Bienvenu of Bienvenu Brothers Enterprises in Metairie, La. Mary Garvelink of Commercial Design Engineering in Colorado Springs, Colo., moved up to president-elect. Jim Stack of Stack Plumbing in Kirkland, Wash., was elected vice president at the annual business meeting.